Hack / Slash #20 Review

Writer: Tim Seeley
Artist: Kevin Mellon

Publisher: Devil’s Due Publishing

It’s been a while since I took a look at Hack / Slash. I think maybe it was before the book started it’s ongoing life, but the stunning cover artwork by Shane White made it leap off the shelf at me.
Though this is part three of a story there was enough information for the main character scenes to flow well. It seems, in the 19 preceding issues Cassandra Hack, and her monstrous partner, Vlad, have developed impressively. There are a lot more layers to each of the characters now, and I find myself compelled to find out where they are headed.
I did have problems with other parts of the issue though:- an interlude featuring a man with a talking alien dog could have been easily helped by a “previously in…” panel in the front of the book, and the same would have helped me understand the motivatons of the ‘bad guys’, but I found myself drawn out of the read while trying to figure out what was going on.
I hope this is sorted out for later issues, as now it may best to recommend people give this a try at the start of the next story arc.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

